by ktreasure

I am doing a speech for Toastmasters shortly and I thought that I might do a faux election speech.

I want to do a speech like something that I would like to hear from a prospective politician.

This is my first draft.

My friends.

We Aussies are a funny lot.

We have very strong opinions about a lot of things and we tend to be a little cynical at times.

We can be especially cynical about politicians and I guess in a lot of instances that can be justified.

There is a perception among some in our community that some of our politicians set low standards and continually fail to reach them.

But I want to change that mindset. Thii sis not a time for recriminations. This is not a time for being negative.

I want to expose you to some new ideas and I want you all to be a part of it. I want you to feel that the next government is your government. I want you all to feel as if we can break new ground , take our thinking where we have never been before.

We live in changing times. We live in exciting times. We live in a time when things have never been so exciting and when things have never moved so fast.

It is time we aimed a little higher.

It is time to question our old methods.

It is time we examined new possibilities.

I want you to consider just for a moment a time in Australia when people can live for a very long time and never get sick.

I want you to consider a time when energy sources are freely available and very cheap.

I want you to consider a time when all conflict can be resolved without resorting to aggression.

When mans activities on Earth will have very little negative on our precious environment.

All this knowledge is now available or very close to it.

I say we don’t just build a new hospital.

I say we aim to build the best teaching and research hospital in the world.

We should be in the forefront of developing new drugs like Telomerase, the drug they say that may help us all live a longer and healthier life. We should be in the forefront of helping to develop new stem cell therapy and cancer research.

We are on the threshold of developing new energy sources that will free us from dependency on fossil fiuels.

I don’t say let’s all applaud our volunteers.

I say lets foster an environment where we can all be encouraged to be volunteers. Where we all can be made aware that there are a lot of terribly disadvantaged people in our community who need a helping hand.

It is not someone else’s problem. It is all our problem. Everyone at some time in their life needs a helping hand.

Our future will be best served in an environment of mentoring and encouragement….not blame and criticism.

Lets aim to replace a culture of celebrity with a culture that is about encouraging the best out of all people.

We live in the best place in the world and Australians are a generous and good natured people.

I recognise that Australians do not want to hear hyperbole, clichés and political spin.

But….. we are here.

It is now .

We can all be a part of creating tomorrow.

I do not have all the answers but YOU DO and so do you and you and you

If you want to be a part of an exciting future the time to make a decision is now.

Make a commitment.

Back to the regular blog later.

Vote for me.